xAI
What the dataset holds from xAI: its documents and their versions, the metric families they report, whether they keep a changelog, and any risk determinations, revisions and restated values recorded from them.
- Documents
- 8 · published 20 Aug 2025 to 21 Sep 2026
- Kinds
- 1 system card and 7 model cards
- Models
- 8
- Values
- 113
- Frameworks
- FAIF
- Its own index
- data.x.ai (opens an external site)
Data as of 26 Sep 2026 · Dataset v0.1 · Methodology v0.1 · Changelog
Documents
8 documents, published 20 Aug 2025 to 21 Sep 2026. The chart runs from each document's publication to its latest known version; the table lists them newest first, each linking to its page.
xAI's documents and the versions we know of
One row per document, from its publication to its latest dated version. A tick marks each later version whose date we know, from a changelog, a date in the document or our source registry.
| Document | Version | Date | Date known from | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grok 4 | First published version | 20 Aug 2025 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4 | Revision | 22 Aug 2025 | our source registry | mentions of UK AISI removed (per Midas Project); no numeric changes documented |
| Grok 4 | Copy retrieved 26 Sep 2026 | 26 Sep 2026 | the date we retrieved it | Not recorded |
| Grok Code Fast 1 | Published | 26 Aug 2025 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok Code Fast 1 | Copy retrieved 26 Sep 2026 | 26 Sep 2026 | the date we retrieved it | Not recorded |
| Grok 4 Fast | Published | 19 Sep 2025 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4 Fast | Copy retrieved 26 Sep 2026 | 26 Sep 2026 | the date we retrieved it | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.1 | Published | 17 Nov 2025 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.1 | Copy retrieved 26 Sep 2026 | 26 Sep 2026 | the date we retrieved it | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.20 | Published | 7 Apr 2026 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.20 | Copy retrieved 26 Sep 2026 | 26 Sep 2026 | the date we retrieved it | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.5 | Original version (read in a copy hosted elsewhere) | 14 Jul 2026 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.5 | Revised version (the copy retrieved) | 20 Jul 2026 | our source registry | revision, no changelog; safety values appear unchanged |
| Grok 4.6 | Original version (read in a copy hosted elsewhere) | 12 Aug 2026 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.6 | Revised version (the copy retrieved) | 17 Aug 2026 | the document's changelog | 5 changes recorded as revisions. |
| Grok 4.7 | Published | 21 Sep 2026 | our source registry | Not recorded |
| Grok 4.7 | Copy retrieved 26 Sep 2026 | 26 Sep 2026 | the date we retrieved it | Not recorded |
A copy we retrieved without knowing when that version was published has no tick: its only date is the day we read it. The table lists every version, with how its date is known. Versions known only from a changelog have no copy we hold yet.
Source: Safety Card Ledger v0.1 · Data from developer system cards · CC BY 4.0
| Document | Published | Kind | Versions known | Changelog | Values |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grok 4.7 Model CardModel card · 1 version known · No changelog · 11 values | 21 Sep 2026 | Model card | 1 | No changelog | 11 |
| Grok 4.6 Model CardModel card · 2 versions known · Partial changelog · 22 values | 12 Aug 2026 | Model card | 2 | Partial changelog | 22 |
| Grok 4.5 Model CardModel card · 2 versions known · No changelog · 15 values | 14 Jul 2026 | Model card | 2 | No changelog | 15 |
| Grok 4.20 System CardSystem card · 1 version known · No changelog · 18 values | 7 Apr 2026 | System card | 1 | No changelog | 18 |
| Grok 4.1 Model CardModel card · 1 version known · No changelog · 14 values | 17 Nov 2025 | Model card | 1 | No changelog | 14 |
| Grok 4 Fast Model CardModel card · 1 version known · No changelog · 10 values | 19 Sep 2025 | Model card | 1 | No changelog | 10 |
| Grok Code Fast 1 Model CardModel card · 1 version known · No changelog · 6 values | 26 Aug 2025 | Model card | 1 | No changelog | 6 |
| Grok 4 Model CardModel card · 3 versions known · No changelog · 17 values | 20 Aug 2025 | Model card | 3 | No changelog | 17 |
Frameworks and versions used
A risk determination is a developer's formal decision on whether a model crosses a risk threshold (Methodology §8). They are counted here by the framework and version each one names, as recorded; each model's page shows the levels as printed. Levels are never mapped between frameworks.
4 determinations are recorded from xAI's documents. 3 of them name no framework.
| Framework | Version named | Determinations | Models | In documents |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FAIFVersion: Not stated · 1 determination · 1 model · 1 document, 21 Sep 2026 | Not stated | 1 | 1 | 21 Sep 2026 · 1 document |
| No framework named3 determinations · 3 models · 3 documents, 20 Aug 2025 to 14 Jul 2026 | — | 3 | 3 | 20 Aug 2025 to 14 Jul 2026 · 3 documents |
Metric families reported
xAI's documents have a printed number in 8 of the 12 metric families. None has one in Reward hacking, Misalignment audits, Self-preservation and Chain-of-thought monitorability.
Metric families in xAI's documents
Share of xAI's 8 documents with at least one printed number in each metric family. A cell opens the data explorer at that family, filtered to xAI.
| Developer | M1 | M2 | M3 | M4 | M5 | M6 | M7 | M8 | M9 | M10 | M11 | M12 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| xAI (8) | 13% | 0% | 13% | 0% | 100% | 88% | 100% | 88% | 63% | 100% | 0% | 0% |
Share of documents0%1-24%25-49%50-74%75-100%
- M1
- Evaluation awareness
- M2
- Reward hacking
- M3
- Sabotage and sandbagging
- M4
- Misalignment audits
- M5
- Honesty and hallucination
- M6
- Sycophancy
- M7
- Harmful compliance and over-refusal
- M8
- Jailbreak robustness
- M9
- Prompt injection
- M10
- Dangerous capabilities and risk determinations
- M11
- Self-preservation
- M12
- Chain-of-thought monitorability
The chart is already a table: every cell prints its share, and its label gives the two counts behind it. The CSV has the counts.
Read this as a lower bound: some documents were not read to the end in version 0 (each document's page says how far), so families reported late in them may be undercounted. Values read off a figure, stated in words, or given as a category do not count.
Source: Safety Card Ledger v0.1 · Data from developer system cards · CC BY 4.0
Changelog practice
A document has a changelog when it keeps its own record of the changes made to it after publication. Where it keeps none, changes can only be found by comparing its versions (Methodology §7).
Of xAI's 8 documents, 1 has a partial changelog and 7 have no changelog.
| Changelog | Documents | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Partial changelogThe document records some of its changes, but not all of them, or not in full. | 1 | 13% |
| No changelogThe document keeps no record of its changes. | 7 | 88% |
Revisions
5 revisions are recorded in 1 document, newest first. Each shows what changed, whether the document's own changelog explains it, and how we know. A revision is not in itself evidence of wrongdoing; most are corrections.
KeyVerifiedUnverifiedDisputedCorrected read off a figure or stated in wordsA value opens its source and history.
no appreciable liftnoted in the biological domain but is limitedNot explained — The changelog does not mention this change.
Old value: New value:
How we know The old value was read in the earlier copy and the new one in the later copy. The FORTRESS-RN addition in the same revision is recorded separately.
Checked Not yet checked
Version of 12 Aug 2026 (opens an external site) Version of 17 Aug 2026 (opens an external site)
97.9%Not explained — Added without a changelog note.
New value:
How we know The value was read in the later copy; the earlier copy does not have it.
Checked Not yet checked
Version of 12 Aug 2026 (opens an external site) Version of 17 Aug 2026 (opens an external site)
16.7%6.9%Partly explained — changelog lists "corrected eval results" for this eval; no reason
Old value: New value:
How we know The old value was read in the earlier copy and the new one in the later copy. Blind check 26 Sep 2026 (both versions)
Checked Blind-verified
Version of 12 Aug 2026 (opens an external site) Version of 17 Aug 2026 (opens an external site)
3.8%1.90%Partly explained — listed as corrected; no reason
Old value: New value:
How we know The old value was read in the earlier copy and the new one in the later copy. Blind check 26 Sep 2026 (both versions)
Checked Blind-verified
Version of 12 Aug 2026 (opens an external site) Version of 17 Aug 2026 (opens an external site)
3.7%0.84%Partly explained — listed as corrected; no reason
Old value: New value:
How we know The old value was read in the earlier copy and the new one in the later copy. Blind check 26 Sep 2026 (both versions)
Checked Blind-verified
Version of 12 Aug 2026 (opens an external site) Version of 17 Aug 2026 (opens an external site)
Models
8 models, newest first by the date of each model's first card.
| Model | First card | Availability | Values |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grok 4.7First card: 21 Sep 2026 · Public · 10 values | 21 Sep 2026 | Public | 10 |
| Grok 4.6First card: 12 Aug 2026 · Public · 22 values | 12 Aug 2026 | Public | 22 |
| Grok 4.5First card: 14 Jul 2026 · Public · 14 values | 14 Jul 2026 | Public | 14 |
| Grok 4.20First card: 7 Apr 2026 · Public · 16 values | 7 Apr 2026 | Public | 16 |
| Grok 4.1First card: 17 Nov 2025 · Public · 15 values | 17 Nov 2025 | Public | 15 |
| Grok 4 FastFirst card: 19 Sep 2025 · Public · 10 values | 19 Sep 2025 | Public | 10 |
| Grok Code Fast 1First card: 26 Aug 2025 · Public · 6 values | 26 Aug 2025 | Public | 6 |
| Grok 4First card: 20 Aug 2025 · Public · 18 values | 20 Aug 2025 | Public | 18 |
Not recorded
No restated values are recorded: no later xAI document is recorded as reporting an earlier model's result again.